Women In Comics Panel from WhitCAF 2018

True North Country Comics presents the Women in Comics panel from WhitCAF 2018. Podcast available on Apple Podcasts and player.fm

women in comics panel

Hosted by James Green of the Geek Hard podcast, the panel included:
Meaghan Carter – Meaghan is the author of the YA webcomics Take Off, and the ongoing Godslave series.
Megan Kearney – In addition to her award-winning adaptation of Beauty and The Beast, Megan is a regular contributor to the Disney Princess series and manages Toronto-based Comic Book Embassy.
Elisabeth Pfeiffer – With a background in journalism and freelance writing, Elisabeth is currently focused on getting her Masters in English from Trent University specializing in Feminism and Gender Studies studying Bitch Planet by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine DeLandro.
Stephanie Quinnell – co-owner of Comic Book Addiction in Whitby, Ontario
Heather V. Swanson – Heather is a contributing editor for Comic Book Resources.

The panel discussed a variety of topics relating to women in comic books including the status of women in comics today, the presentation of female characters in comic books, the perception of women creators in the marketplace, discussion about the term ‘comic books’ as a medium rather than a genre, and the benefit of smaller conventions and festivals.

+++++++

Here’s some of the current news about Canadian comic book creators and supporters.

The Herald Scotland published their choices for best graphic novels of the year. The list included Woman World by Aminder Dhaliwal calling it “slyly comic; a smart sitcom pinned to the page.” You can read more at HeraldScotland.com
https://www.heraldscotland.com/arts_ents/17298714.graphic-content-our-choice-of-the-best-graphic-novels-of-the-year/

womanworldcover

SyFy Wire published an interview with Brendan Fletcher who’s currently working with Karl Kerschl on ISOLA. Brendan commented his past work in addition to the ISOLA series. He said: “There’s going to one volume of ISOLA every year for the next number of years.” You can read more at SyFy.com
https://www.syfy.com/syfywire/indie-comic-spotlight-brenden-fletcher-went-from-rural-canada-to-comics-star

isola vol 1

Dan Brown from The Montreal Gazette wrote about his top pics for the year’s best graphic novels. His choices included:
#1 – On Vinyl by Lorenz Peter
#2 – Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles with art by Mike Feehan
#4 – Woman World by Aminder Dhaliwal
#6 – Vagabond Valise by Siris
#8 – Supergirl: Being Super writer by Mariko Tamaki
You can read more at MontrealGazette.com
https://montrealgazette.com/entertainment/books/graphic-novel-on-vinyl-tops-my-list-of-the-years-best-graphic-novels/wcm/fdc06538-5ab9-4ca8-b730-e6b085cd5c18

 

And continuing with the Montreal Gazette, they wrote about Julie Doucet who’s the focus of Dirty Plotte: The Complete Julie Doucet published by Drawn & Quarterly. The two-volume set that features her self-publisher series of zines that were called pioneering works in comics culture. You can read more at MontrealGazette.com
https://montrealgazette.com/entertainment/local-arts/montreals-julie-doucet-revolutionized-comics-then-she-walked-away

dirty plotte

Newsarama reported that Amazing Spider-Man artist Chris Bachalo is returning to the title earlier than expected. Originally planned to help with issue #15, the newest solicits indicate his return with issue #14 planned for January 30. You can read more on Newsarama.com
https://www.newsarama.com/43140-chris-bachalo-returning-to-amazing-spider-man-early.html

 

For fans of Faith Erin Hicks, Bustle.com is offering fans a sneak peek at her upcoming book Pumpkinheads with writer Rainbow Rowell. Although the title won’t be available until August 27, 2019, the site is delivering a ‘slice’ of the graphic novel now. You can read more at Bustle.com
https://www.bustle.com/p/pumpkinheads-by-rainbow-rowell-faith-erin-hicks-is-serving-up-major-fall-vibes-you-can-start-reading-now-15526978

pumpkinheads


The Oregonian published a list of holiday gift ideas of young readers from the Beaverton City Library. The list included Crush by Svetlana Chmakova. You can read more at OregonLive.com

https://www.oregonlive.com/beaverton-library/2018/12/holiday_gift_ideas_for_the_you_2.html

 

Comic Book Resources spoke with Chip Zdarsky about his upcoming book Invaders who explained why heroes are fighting in the new title. He was quoted as saying: “The WWII flashbacks are masterful pages filled with emotion. It’s a dream to get to work with Butch Guice.” You can read more at CBR.com
https://www.cbr.com/interview-chip-zdarsky-invaders/2/

++++

Please subscribe to and like this podcast on iTunes. Please check out the True North Country Comics.com website. Follow along on Twitter at TrueNorthComics and Instagram at Instagram.com/TrueNorthCountryComics. 

Please send your feedback to Info@TrueNorthCountryComics.com

True North Country Comics Podcast is copyright True North Country Comics. Copyright 2018

Leave a Reply