Canadian comic book creators at SDCC 2019 for Friday, July 19, 2019

It’s that time of year again when Comic-Con International and the countless attendees take over San Diego. Podcast available on Apple Podcasts


I’ve scoured the Internet to gather together the latest and greatest information about the amazing Canadian comic book creators who’ll be showcasing their talents at the annual event.

Here’s the late breaking news about Canadian creators at SDCC 2019 announced that Chip Zdarsky, Jason Loo, Paris Alleyne, Aditya Bidikar and Allison O’Toole are joining ComiXology Originals with AFTERLIFT. After playing coy about attending Comic-Con, Chip revealed his true intentions at this week’s ComiXology Originals press event to tease the new series expected to debut this winter. Chip was quoted as saying: “The upcoming publication of Afterlift marks a major turning point in the literary career of Chip Zdarsky, award-considered writer. Someday soon an Afterlift trade paperback will sit on the shelves of libraries around the world, alongside dusty, leather bound tomes of John Milton’s Paradise Lost and other books.” Yup, that’s Chip.
You can

SDCC ’19: Zdarsky & Loo join ComiXology Originals with AFTERLIFT

afterlift cover image


There’s one item on Friday’s schedule that’s definitely worth highlighting. The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards take place tonight. The 31st iteration of the awards is dedicated to creating awareness of and appreciation for comics and related popular artforms, primarily through the presentation of conventions and events that celebrate the historic and ongoing contributions of comics to art and culture. There are many Canadians up for awards including Jason Fabok, Emily Carroll, Jeff Lemire, Chip Zdarsky Brendan Fletcher, Faith Erin Hicks, Svetlana Chmakova, Aminder Dhaliwal, and Michael Walsh. Additionally, I want to call out just a few separately. Hartley Lin is nominated in the category of Best Graphic Album – Reprint for Young Frances. I spoke with Hartley earlier this year at the Toronto Comic Arts Festival. Another is Mike Feehan who is nominated in the category for Best Limited Series for Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles. I spoke with Mike about this very subject of the Eisner Awards. Karl Kerschl is nominated in the category of Best New Series for Isola. I spoke with him about the great feedback he’s received from fans.
Good luck to all the nominees.



If you’re lucky enough to be at the show or for who aren’t so lucky (that’s me), here’s where these intrepid Canadians can be found today.

Daily Events
10 am to 11 am
Jimmy Olsen, Kirby and More
Room 28DE

11 am to 12 noon
Berger Books and Writers’ Room: Stories Come First
Jeff Lemire
Room 23ABC

11 am to 12 noon
Camilla d’Errico Signing
Random House Publishing booth #1515-B

12 noon to 1 pm
Bedside Press: What’s Next?
Hope Nicholson and Ashley Robinson
Room 25ABC

12 noon to 12:45 pm
Brenden Fletcher Signing
Image Comics booth #1915

12:30 pm to 1:30 pm
Spotlight on Seth
Room 8

1 pm to 2 pm
Jim Zub and Max Dunbar – Stone Star Signing
COMIXOLOGY booth #2121

1 pm to 2 pm
What is the Best Superpower?
Todd McFarlane

1:30 pm to 3:30 pm
Seth Signing
Drawn & Quarterly booth #1629

2:15 pm to 3:15 pm
Jim Zub Signing
Oni Press booth #1833

2:30 pm to 4:30 pm
Aminder Dhaliwal Signing
Drawn & Quarterly booth #1629

3 pm to 3:50 pm
Black Hammer/Justice League: Hammer of Justice Signing
Jeff Lemire and Michael Walsh
Dark Horse Comics booth #2615

3 pm to 5 pm
Todd McFarlane Signing
Image Comics booth #1915

3:30 pm to 4:30 pm
Bryan Lee O’Malley Signing
Oni Press booth #1833

4 pm to 5 pm
Time, Memory, and Comics Storytelling
Room 28DE

5 pm to 5:40 pm
Jim Zub Signing
Marvel Comics booth #2329

5 pm to 6 pm
Corey Doctorow Signing
Booth AA04

6 pm to 7 pm
Best and Worst Manga of 2019
Christopher Butcher
Room 4

6 pm to 7 pm
Fanbase Press: The Art of Star Wars
Ken Lashley
Room 7AB

7 pm to 8 pm
Comics of the Internet: The Memes, The Myths, The Legends
Hope Nicholson
Room 9

7 pm to 8 pm
Seth Rogen
Hall H

8 pm to 10:30 pm
Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards
Indigo Ballroom, Hilton San Diego Bayfront


Artist Alley

Agnes Garbowska – Table DD-01

Matt Banning – Table BB-22


Camilla d’Errico – booth 4723

Ryan Sohmer – Booth 1234


Wandering The Show

Adam Gorham

Chip Zdarsky


Please subscribe to and like this podcast on Apple Podcasts

Please check out the True North Country website and follow along on Twitter at @TrueNorthComics

Please send your feedback to



True North Country Comics Podcast is copyright True North Country Comics. Copyright 2019

Leave a Reply