Canadian creators featured in DC Essential Graphic Novels 2019

DC released ‘DC Essential Graphic Novels 2019’ this week and just in time for the holiday gift-buying season. Wink, wink.

DC-Essential-Graphic-Novels-Catalog-2019_5bb2cfc3d48d89.87985321

Every year DC publishes the catalog of their graphic novels that gives both new and current readers a resource to find their favourite character in the DC universe.

Along with the cover page, DC features select graphic novels by offering a brief synopsis of the book, panels or pages of key scenes, reviews from the industry and who created the book.

Noted Canadian comic book creators are included in the catalog:
Batman Vol. 1: I Am Gotham – David Finch – artist
Batman/The Flash: The Button Deluxe Edition – Jason Fabok – artist
DC: The New Frontier – Darwyn Cooke – artist, writer
Supergirl: Being Super – Mariko Tamaki – writer
The Flash: Starting Line (DC Essential Edition) – Francis Manapul – artist, writer

In the DC Ink section, for readers 13 and up, the catalog highlights Harley Quinn: Breaking Glass written by Mariko Tamaki.

In the DC Zoom section, for ages 8 to 12, artist Agnes Garbowska is recognized for DC Super Hero Girls: Space Out.

In the section designation ‘Genre Definers’, graphic novels ‘embedded into the very fabric of the comics industry’, DC highlighted the following:
DC: The New Frontier – Darwyn Cooke – artist, writer
Forever Evil – David Finch – artist
Gotham Academy Vol. 1:  Welcome to Gotham Academy – Karl Kerschl – artist
Y: The Last Man Book One – Pia Guerra – artist

For Batman fans, DC highlighted the following graphic novels featuring Canadians:
Batman/The Flash: The Button Deluxe Edition – Jason Fabok – artist
Batman Vol. 1 : I Am Gotham – David Finch – artist
Batman Vol. 2: I Am Suicide – David Finch – artist
Batman Vol. 3: I Am Bane – David Finch – artist

For fans of Superman, DC features the following graphic novels with Canadian creators:
The Man of Steel – Jason Fabok – artist
Superman: American Alien – Francis Manapul – artist

For Wonder Woman fans, DC suggested Wonder Woman: Earth One Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 featuring Canadian artist Yanick Paquette.

For fans of the Justice League, Canadian creators are highlighted for:
Justice League: No Justice – Francis Manapul and Marcus To – artists
Forever Evil – David Finch – artist
Justice League: The Darkseid War (DC Essential Edition) – Jason Fabok and Francis Manapul – artists

Flash fans are recommended the following books featuring Canadian creators:
The Flash: Starting Line (Essential Edition) – Francis Manapul – artist
Batman/The Flash: The Button Deluxe Edition – Jason Fabok – artist

In the DC Essential Editions section that highlight best standalone stories, graphic novels featuring Canadian creators include:
Justice League: Darkseid War (DC Essential Edition) – Jason Fabok and Francis Manapul – artists
The Flash: Starting Point (DC Essential Edition) – Francis Manapul – artist
Green Arrow – War of the Clans (DC Essential Edition) – Jeff Lemire – writer

For those looking for something brand new, DC recommends The Terrifics Vol. 1 and Damage Vol. 1 written by Jeff Lemire.

For more mature audiences, DC Vertigo pushes the limits of graphic storytelling in titles by Canadian creators including Trillium by artist and writer Jeff Lemire along with Y: The Last Man Book One by artist Pia Guerra.

Along a similar theme, DC’s Young Animal is a grassroots mature-reader line with suggestions Shade, The Changing Girl Vol. 1: Earth Girl Made Easy and Shade, The Changing Woman by Canadian writer Cecil Castellucci. 

DC Essential Graphic Novels 2019  offers a boatload of gift-buying suggestions for the graphic novel fan in your house.

Get the newly released 2019 catalog at your local comic book shop, or you can browse through it online at https://www.dccomics.com/reader/#/comics/441916

Leave a Reply